Payment Trends

aye4fin has investigated the topic of payment trends for 2022 and noted 7 payment trends that will be significant for 2022.

Top 7 Payment Trends 2022

The year 2021 shaped the digitalization of payments like no year before. Digitalization focused on innovations regarding payments. Fintech and banks have formed partnerships, which over time have proven to be key enablers of payment transformation. 

Building a successful payment solution requires solutions to relevant industry trends. aye4fin has investigated the topic of payment trends for 2022 and noted 7 payment trends that will be significant for 2022. 

1. Growth in the APAC region

Compared to the Americas and EMEA, many countries in Asia have a high ratio of unbanked people, due to which payment methods from alternative providers (telecoms/transportation) and fintech startups have emerged over the past year. These market players are providing above-average growth. 

2. Contactless payment

With the development of NFC (near field communication) functionalities in cell phones and other close-to-body identification devices (watch/wristband/ring), as well as the further spread of QR codes (quick response codes), fast contactless payment in brick-and-mortar retail, and simple two-factor authorization on the Internet will continue to spread.

3. Buy Now Pay Later

“Buy now, pay later” (BNPL) means nothing other than “buy now and pay later” in German. This is practically a modern name for the classic purchase on account, as it was known from offline catalogs, among other things. 

4. Payment-Orchestration

If the technology enables intelligent selection of the most suitable payment option, this is known as payment-orchestration. Depending on the sales channel, the size of the shopping basket, the customer’s location, the costs, and the benefits of the available payment methods are analyzed and the best option from the customer’s and the retailer’s point of view is used. 

5. Embedded finance

Financial products and services offered by companies outside traditional banks, either directly or as part of their products or services via alternative sales channels and platforms, are referred to as embedded finance. 

Technological advances and rising consumer expectations are currently putting the banks’ “monopoly” to the test with new embedded finance models. For example, the credit for the newly purchased television is granted as part of the payment process at the online electronics retailer.

6. Real Time Payments

In cashless payment transactions, the real-time transfer (e.g., SEPA Instant Payment) is a payment method in which the payment transactions in online banking take a maximum of 10 seconds from the payer to the crediting of the payee. With the constant acceleration of international payment flows and digital competition from crypto transfers, a further expansion of functionalities in the FIAT area can be seen.

7. Digital Currency (CBDC)

Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC), unlike a cryptocurrency, is digital central bank money that has the same characteristics as familiar fiat money. 

CBDC are regulated and do not behave like sometimes highly volatile Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT) based cryptocurrency. 

China will likely be the first country to make this type of digital money available to the masses, with a pilot planned for the 2022 Winter Olympics.

Payment Trends

aye4fin hat sich mit der Thematik der Payment Trends für das Jahr 2022 auseinandergesetzt und 7 Payment Trends festgehalten, welche für das Jahr 2022 von Bedeutung sein werden.

growth icon

Top 7 Payment Trends 2022

Das Jahr 2021 prägte die Digitalisierung des Zahlungsverkehrs wie kein Jahr zuvor. Im Mittelpunkt der Digitalisierung standen Innovationen hinsichtlich des Zahlungsverkehrs. Fintech und Banken sind Partnerschaften eingegangen, welche sich im Laufe der Zeit als wichtige Voraussetzung für die Veränderung des Zahlungsverkehres erwiesen haben.

Der Aufbau einer erfolgreichen Zahlungslösung erfordert Lösungen für relevante Branchentrends. aye4fin hat sich mit der Thematik der Payment Trends für das Jahr 2022 auseinandergesetzt und 7 Payment Trends festgehalten, welche für das Jahr 2022 von Bedeutung sein werden.

1. Wachstum in der APAC-Region

Verglichen mit Amerikas und EMEA weisen viele Länder in Asien eine hohe Quote von Leuten ohne Bankkonto auf, aufgrund dessen sind im letzten Jahr Bezahlmethoden alternativer Anbieter (Telekommunikation/Transportwesen) und Fintech-Startups entstanden. Diese Marktteilnehmer sorgen für ein überdurchschnittliches Wachstum.

2. Kontaktloses Bezahlen

Mit der Entwicklung von NFC-Funktionalitäten (near field communication) in Mobiltelefonen und anderen nah am Körper getragen Identifikationsgeräten (Uhr/Armband/Ring), sowie der weiteren Verbreitung von QR-Codes (Quick Response Codes) wird das schnelle, kontaktlose Bezahlen im stationären Handel und die einfache zwei Faktor Autorisierung im Internet sich weiter ausbreiten.

3. Buy Now Pay Later

„Buy now, pay later“ (BNPL) heißt auf Deutsch nichts anderes als „jetzt kaufen und später bezahlen“. Dabei handelt es sich praktisch um eine moderne Bezeichnung für den klassischen Rechnungskauf, wie man ihn unter anderen aus den Offline-Katalogen kannte.

4. Payment-Orchestration

Ermöglicht die Technologie eine intelligente Auswahl, der am besten geeigneten Zahlungsoption, so spricht man von Payment-Orchestration. Es werden je nach Vertriebsweg, Warenkorbgröße und Standort des Kunden die Kosten und der Nutzen der zu Verfügung stehenden Bezahlwege analysiert und die aus Kunden- und Händlersicht optimale Variante genutzt.

5. Embedded Finance

Finanzprodukte und Finanzdienstleistungen, die Unternehmen außerhalb der traditionellen Banken direkt oder als Teil ihrer Produkte oder Services über alternative Vertriebswege und Plattformen anbieten, werden als Embedded Finance bezeichnet.

Durch technische Fortschritte und gestiegene Erwartungen der Verbraucher/-innen wird das „Monopol“ der Banken mit neuen Embedded-Finance-Modellen aktuell auf die Probe gestellt. Die Kreditvergabe für den neu gekauften Fernseher erfolgt zum Beispiel im Rahmen des Bezahlprozesses beim Onlinehändler für Elektronik.

6. Real Time Payments

Die Echtzeitüberweisung (z.B. SEPA Instant Payment) ist im bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehr eine Zahlungsart, bei der im Online-Banking die Zahlungsvorgänge vom Zahlungspflichtigen bis zur Gutschrift beim Zahlungsempfänger maximal 10 Sekunden benötigen. Mit der ständigen Beschleunigung der internationalen Zahlungsströme und der digitalen Konkurrenz durch Krypto-Transfers, lässt sich ein weiterer Ausbau der Funktionalitäten im FIAT Bereich erkennen.

7. Digitale Währung (CBDC)

Bei Central Bank Digital Currency (CBDC) handelt es sich im Gegensatz zu einer Kryptowährung um digitales Zentralbankgeld, welches die gleichen Eigenschaften wie das bekannte Fiatgeld aufweist.

CBDC sind reguliert und verhalten sich nicht wie teilweise hoch volatiles, auf Distributed Ledger Technology (DLT) basierendes Kryptogeld.

China wird wohl als erstes Land diese Art des digitalen Geldes für die breite Masse zur Verfügung stellen, es ist ein Pilot zur Winterolympiade 2022 geplant.